From 2013 to 2016, Maestro Boy Fajardo and ATHAG were part of the PITAHC Technical Working Group that helped develop the Competency Standards for Hilot and the guidelines for its implementation based on working documents prepared by PITAHC.

In 2016, when the guidelines were approved, we became part of the first PITAHC National Certification Committee for Hilot.

The PITAHC Certification;

There are two (2) strands for the PITAHC certification:

  1. Recognition of established traditional manghihilot. This is for those who learned Hilot the traditional way and who have been serving their communities for at least 10 years. This is done through nomination by a third party.
  2. Registration of new practitioners. This is for those who learned Hilot through training programs conducted by PITAHC-accredited institutions. To clarify, this registration of new practitioners is not the same as the TESDA certification. Having a TESDA Hilot (Wellness Massage) NC II certificate does not mean that you will be automatically granted PITAHC certification.

The Minimum Competency Standards for the Registration of New Practitioners:

The following were identified as the minimum competencies needed by new Hilot practitioners to begin a career in Hilot:

  1. Practice grounding techniques or undergo traditional spiritual formation
  2. Embody and articulate the Hilot framework in the community
  3. Assess patient according to the Hilot framework
  4. Work independently within an integrated health care delivery system
  5. Perform traditional Hilot manipulation techniques
  6. Perform or instruct patient on how to do traditional Filipino herbal treatment
  7. Assist in Hilot center/clinic administration
  8. Manage Hilot center/clinic services
  9. Continue  Hilot education and professional development